smoke

I write better when I smoke. Don’t ask me to reduce it to a science.

Judging books

When I was a kid, one of the things I remember being reminded of most often was that I should never judge a book by its cover. ‘Course, being a stubborn kid, I had a little difficulty accepting that. The way I figured it, if a book didn’t look like it was worth my time, then it wasn’t. If a book looked ugly, then the contents couldn’t be much different. 

In one of my many smart-ass moments, I took a butt-ugly book to my teacher and asked her if she thought the book would be a good read. Sensing a trap, she goes: “I know it looks like it might not be good, but you can’t judge – ”

“Yes Sister Ernestine,” I reply. “So please read the book and tell me if my judgement was wrong.”

She laughed. Having convinced myself that I had come up with an airtight argument, I stamped my foot in frustration. 

“Romany,” she said, “it doesn’t matter if your judgment turns out to be right. The point is that you should give the book the chance to prove you wrong. If it doesn’t, so what? What matters is that you gave it a chance. Being right in the end doesn’t mean that you were right to judge the book without first trying to read it.”

I pouted the rest of the day. It just didn’t make sense. I could see how the situation would be different if you turned out to be wrong, but what if you were right? 

Apparently, Noemi Dado and my 12-year old self agree with each other.

(Edit:Placed original sentence for comparison. Incidentally, Valley Golf Club suspended DAR Chief’s membership for two years because he “was held liable for allegedly allowing the actions of his two sons” Those people who love to nitpick on my usage of words above and how they claim my stand is softened and so with my “pre-judgment” , really now, the Valley Golf findings affirm that the DAR chief just looked on. It’s what you call a mother’s gut feeling. So nitpick all you want, the truth will come out in the end.)

The lesson being: if you turn out to be right in the end, it doesn’t matter if you didn’t give someone the benefit of the doubt that was due him. Or to look at it from another angle, it’s perfectly alright for a person to be considered guilty until proven innocent.

Yay, momblogger! Yay, 12-year old me!

Now if only I could figure out when exactly I turned into such a nitpicker. 

Oh, right. That was in the fourth grade when I learned that if something was worth doing, it was worth doing well.

Filed under: blogging, musings,

5 Responses

  1. brianbro says:

    Romany, why don’t you focus on your boyfriend nalang.

  2. Marocharim says:

    hmmm… (reclines, adjusts glasses, deep drag of cigarette, cough cough COUGH…)

    hmmm…

    a-HMMM. Good point you make there… guilty until proven innocent, although it happens a lot these days.

    although seriously, “Ernestine?”

  3. rom says:

    marocharim: yeah. our reading teacher. One of three nuns. The other two were Sister Elvie – music – and Sister Susan – religion. 😀

  4. reyna elena says:

    Ernestine?!

    hmmm… will someboy please pass the popcorn?!
    ~ munching~
    i’m liking this movie….
    be back…

  5. rom says:

    reyna elena: welcome to the smoking … er … theater? LOL!

Leave a Reply

RSS Short Puffs

  • Re-election 31 December 2008
    Maceda sez Erap consulted Narvasa and others, and they told him that the 1987 Consti prohibits only the INCUMBENT prez from re-election. Former prezzies, by their definition, face no such prohibition. But in the same breath, Maceda also sez that they know an Erap candidacy will be the subject of a disqual case – but […]
  • Escalation 30 December 2008
    I still think the Pangandaman’s shouldn’t have retaliated even if dela Paz threw the first punch. But is anyone really surprised at the escalation in the story-telling on both sides? BTW, I think we can dispense with the age angle nao.
  • Etiquette 29 December 2008
    Unless you’re spoiling for a fight, assume that the writer has some basis for what she writes. Don’t make like a lawyer and ask retarded questions in an attempt to lay the foundation for whatever point you’re trying to make.
  • Anne 28 December 2008
    Anne Curtis won best actress? Against the likes of Marian Rivera and Diana Zubiri? So what?
  • Baler 28 December 2008
    Watching Baler tomorrow. Will it be worth it?





Locations of visitors to this page

Archived Maps:
Politics & Government - Top Blogs Philippines


My site is worth $119.
How much is yours worth?

