smoke

I write better when I smoke. Don’t ask me to reduce it to a science.

The wedding date

Finally. Some time to breathe. And of course, I use the time to blog. 😀 The aunties tell me I’m addicted. And I say, there are worse things I can be addicted to. Chorizo corndogs and mustard, f’rinstance.

Anyway, the wedding is tomorrow – November the 2nd. The first thing I asked Nita when I found out the date of the wedding almost six month ago was why that date? Being the superstitious girl that I am, the date seemed just a tad too inasupicious. And even though Nita’s family has been in the States for more than three decades now, I couldn’t imagine the aunties feeling any different about the date.

I was right, Nita told me. She had to fight tooth and nail for that date, she said. Which only begged the question: what’s so special about the 2nd of November. As it turned out, the answer to that question was also the most obvious one.

*Facepalm!*

Ah well. What’s in a date anyway, right? Nita is ridiculously happy; Simon seems to be walking on air; and all the aunties are walking dynamos. 🙂 Tomorrow’s ceremonies may be low-LOW-key by our wedding standards, but behind the scenes, this has been one FAT Filipino wedding.

Filed under: vacuity,

2 Responses

  1. cvj says:

    The choice of dates is not obvious to me. Does it have to do with death and rebirth?

  2. cvj says:

    Ah ok, let me try again, it’s some sort of anniversary.

Leave a Reply

RSS Short Puffs

  • Re-election 31 December 2008
    Maceda sez Erap consulted Narvasa and others, and they told him that the 1987 Consti prohibits only the INCUMBENT prez from re-election. Former prezzies, by their definition, face no such prohibition. But in the same breath, Maceda also sez that they know an Erap candidacy will be the subject of a disqual case – but […]
  • Escalation 30 December 2008
    I still think the Pangandaman’s shouldn’t have retaliated even if dela Paz threw the first punch. But is anyone really surprised at the escalation in the story-telling on both sides? BTW, I think we can dispense with the age angle nao.
  • Etiquette 29 December 2008
    Unless you’re spoiling for a fight, assume that the writer has some basis for what she writes. Don’t make like a lawyer and ask retarded questions in an attempt to lay the foundation for whatever point you’re trying to make.
  • Anne 28 December 2008
    Anne Curtis won best actress? Against the likes of Marian Rivera and Diana Zubiri? So what?
  • Baler 28 December 2008
    Watching Baler tomorrow. Will it be worth it?





Locations of visitors to this page

Archived Maps:
Politics & Government - Top Blogs Philippines


My site is worth $119.
How much is yours worth?

