smoke

I write better when I smoke. Don’t ask me to reduce it to a science.

Take a dump

This latest round of the Dump Wars has truly got me shaking my head – to shoo off the flies that have been buzzing around our street because of uncollected garbage. And it’s resurrected an idea I had when I was a wee bit younger.

Tomorrow, I’m going to petition our barangay to start a recycling center. It’s not that difficult and there are a bunch of kids hanging around the basketball court all day doing squat, so they might as well earn a little living.

So, just in case anyone out there is interested in starting up a recycling project in their neighborhood, this is what I’m going to do.

First off, I’m going to go talk to the junk shop not too far from my neighborhood and ask them:

  • what sort of stuff they take;
  • when the best time is to bring stuff to them; and
  • how much they’re going to pay me.

This’ll prolly take me a day, considering that there’s other stuff I need to do. Once I get the details, I can set collection targets that’ll allow me to share the money from the junk shop with the people I’m gonna get the recyclables from.

Second, I’m going to start on a door-knocking campaign. A simple and straightforward announcement to my neighbors that I’m gonna start a recyclables collection route; Tell ’em what I’m after – paper, aluminum cans, and PET bottles. I’m going to stay away from metals.

Third, I’m going to talk to the out-of-school kids in the neighborhood to help me in exchange for a bit of cash. I’m gonna call them eco-warriors, so its fun. I don’t wanna violate child labor laws, so it’s prolly better if I do this through the barangay or SK in my area. But the idea is, the kids can knock on doors and collect the recyclables. If there are too many recyclables, they can come to the collection point and get help from the bigger kids and their bicycles. Kids who bring in recyclables can have the recyclables traded for cash. Share efforts equals shared pay-offs.

Fourth, I’m going to set-up a collection point where my eco-warriors can bring their recyclables. That’s where my one and only vehicle will be waiting to chug off and bring stuff to the junkshop. The recyclables get traded for cash, and the money goes to the payment of my eco-warriors the following day.

🙂

Sounds all sunny, doesn’t it. LOL! I suppose it does, and I know I’m gonna run into all sorts of trouble trying to make it happen. But I’ll do the SWOT analysis later. With this, as with all things, it’s important above all else to just get started doing it.

Filed under: environment, ,

Leave a Reply

RSS Short Puffs

  • Re-election 31 December 2008
    Maceda sez Erap consulted Narvasa and others, and they told him that the 1987 Consti prohibits only the INCUMBENT prez from re-election. Former prezzies, by their definition, face no such prohibition. But in the same breath, Maceda also sez that they know an Erap candidacy will be the subject of a disqual case – but […]
  • Escalation 30 December 2008
    I still think the Pangandaman’s shouldn’t have retaliated even if dela Paz threw the first punch. But is anyone really surprised at the escalation in the story-telling on both sides? BTW, I think we can dispense with the age angle nao.
  • Etiquette 29 December 2008
    Unless you’re spoiling for a fight, assume that the writer has some basis for what she writes. Don’t make like a lawyer and ask retarded questions in an attempt to lay the foundation for whatever point you’re trying to make.
  • Anne 28 December 2008
    Anne Curtis won best actress? Against the likes of Marian Rivera and Diana Zubiri? So what?
  • Baler 28 December 2008
    Watching Baler tomorrow. Will it be worth it?





Locations of visitors to this page

Archived Maps:
Politics & Government - Top Blogs Philippines


My site is worth $119.
How much is yours worth?

