smoke

I write better when I smoke. Don’t ask me to reduce it to a science.

Vox Populi

A collaborative blog has always sounded like a smashing idea to me. I’ve tried to start one up called the Republic of Pundits, and it’s still around. I’m still working on it, trying to sort out the tech side so it’ll be just as easy for members to update their posts on the Republic as it is to update their own sites. It’s slow work, especially since I’m not exactly a tech virtuoso. Ok, so I really really stink at it. AFter all, my shtick is that I write.

So, when I was offered the chance to join a collaborative, I jumped at the chance. And now, that collaborative is up and running. Yay!

Filipino Voices, the collaborative launched by Nick (tingog.com) includes in its roster of writers Schumey (The Philippine Experience), Dean Jorge Bocobo (Philippine Commentary), Manuel Buencamino (Uniffors), Lester Cavestany, Cocoy (Big Mango), Patricio Mangubat (The New Philippine Revolution), Arbet (AWB Holdings), Butch (The Warrior Lawyer), and the blogs The Jester in Exile, the Nutbox. If I missed anyone, I’m terribly sorry. I’ll fix that tonight, and put in the links then too.

Oh, and I’m in it too.

SO there you have it, folks. This is probably as good as step as any – and better than most – to get us closer to publishing the vox populi . Wish us luck!

Filed under: Quick Posts, smokin' hot,

4 Responses

  1. Jeg says:

    Luck.

    Theyre missing cvj. Aside from DJB, he’s probably one of the most numerate local bloggers I know.

  2. BrianB says:

    So, what are you collaborating about? I’ve always thought bloggers are independent creatures but here you all are trying your best to be dependent. I don’t gets.

  3. cvj says:

    I think a group blog is a good idea and i welcome the trend. Some of my favorite blogs like Crookedtimber, Cosmicvariance, 3quarksdaily and Marginalrevolution are group blogs. It’s about time we have a couple if only to lay to rest that old stereotype and prove that Filipinos are able to work together.

    Jeg, thanks.

  4. rom says:

    jeg: cvj was actually the very first blogger I approached with the Republic idea, so I totally agree with you. 🙂

    brianb: i think a group blog (prolly a better description than ‘collaborative’ – thanks cvj) doesn’t mean dependence. Nor even agreement. but, as with Republic, i believe the idea is to give people who are new to the blogosphere the opportunity to get a sampling of what’s out there in terms of Filipino bloggers. Kinda like a portal, if you wish.

    cvj: i totally agree. 🙂

Leave a Reply

RSS Short Puffs

  • Re-election 31 December 2008
    Maceda sez Erap consulted Narvasa and others, and they told him that the 1987 Consti prohibits only the INCUMBENT prez from re-election. Former prezzies, by their definition, face no such prohibition. But in the same breath, Maceda also sez that they know an Erap candidacy will be the subject of a disqual case – but […]
  • Escalation 30 December 2008
    I still think the Pangandaman’s shouldn’t have retaliated even if dela Paz threw the first punch. But is anyone really surprised at the escalation in the story-telling on both sides? BTW, I think we can dispense with the age angle nao.
  • Etiquette 29 December 2008
    Unless you’re spoiling for a fight, assume that the writer has some basis for what she writes. Don’t make like a lawyer and ask retarded questions in an attempt to lay the foundation for whatever point you’re trying to make.
  • Anne 28 December 2008
    Anne Curtis won best actress? Against the likes of Marian Rivera and Diana Zubiri? So what?
  • Baler 28 December 2008
    Watching Baler tomorrow. Will it be worth it?





Locations of visitors to this page

Archived Maps:
Politics & Government - Top Blogs Philippines


My site is worth $119.
How much is yours worth?

